Skip to content

Bash one-liners: deleting unopened files in current directory

August 27, 2012

Gaussian ’09 can leave behind piles of temp files when things fail. These build up and take up a good chunk of disk-space. Usually I just do the house-cleaning when disk-space gets low, but as some may be in use, I cannot just clean the whole directory. I usually tinker until I get something that will “delete all unopened files”, but I keep forgetting how I did it the time before (and I’ve probably done it differently each time…)
The current incarnation follows. This deletes any unopened files in the current directory:

for file in * ; do lsof $file > /dev/null || rm $file ; done

It’s not perfect, as this one complains when rm tries to delete directories. Testing for directories is unnecessary and annoying. I could silence rm with a 2> /dev/null, but the paranoid-me doesn’t want to quiet all errors.
Any suggestions welcomed. My glob was originally `ls *.*` but thought this excessive, and potentially able to miss files without a suffix.

From → Howto

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

