Skip to content

Parallella!

October 12, 2012

I just backed this kickstarter today for Parallella, and have to say I’m very excited! To me, this is the right thing to do, done the right way. I really hope it succeeds! Not just to get a dev board, but I want to see these chips proliferate and make it easier for people to do heterogeneous parallel programming.

My mind is racing with everything I want to do with it, and everything that is possible :D

Update: 10-16-2012 In their newest project update, the Parallella kickstarter has decided on a “soft relaunch” in order to better sell the platform to a wider audience. I think it’s a great idea. They had asked for people to post about what they plan to do with their dev board in order to post the more exciting/credible ones to the front page in order to (as they said) “WOW” the non-programmers. I had already posted what I plan to do, but thought I’d reproduce my ideas here and elaborate a bit more than I would in a comment thread.

I definitely plan on playing around with computational chemistry packages on my board. I currently use Quantum ESPRESSO and Gaussian on our small cluster in lab, but have been interested in running the open source packages on more accelerated hardware. This is one of the reasons this project caught my attention.
ESPRESSO and Octopus (another comp chem package with similar goals) have preliminary/development branches with CUDA/OpenCL accelerated backends respectively, so getting them to use the Epiphany cores shouldn’t be too difficult. Getting them to run well will be fun to experiment with ;]
Both packages mostly rely on the matrix math backends to offload the work to the GPU, so assuming I get these packages utilizing the Epiphany cores, it should be simple enough to get other computational packages to use Epiphany cores. I would likely start hacking on NWChem (another popular computation chemistry package).
All these packages support some form of cluster programming through MPI in particular, so a Parallella board should be able to be dropped into an existing cluster (or make a small cluster of Parallella boards ;]).

I really don’t think this will be too difficult, and this gives me the chance to have a reasonable computational setup at home that won’t bankrupt me electricity-wise. Exciting!

…LibVA (vaapi) seems a good target as well. Writing a backend for that would allow the use of the cores for video decoding/encoding, and do so without having to mess with the base package. This seems like it might be more effort (it looks like it involves reimplementing any encoding/decoding profiles to expose to libVA), but would allow an easy “drop in” solution that would immediately benefit mplayer/VLC/XMBC. This is a project I’d definitely be willing to work on….

I had this idea when people were discussing “out-of-box” and “media box” potential. I poked around the vaapi repo and realized the Epiphany could easily be a “backend” for it. This seemed like a bit more work, but I was willing to do so in order to generate some more excitement for the board. I actually resolved myself to start writing what I could with the documents they’ve already released. I’m hoping to get a chance to have at least a skeleton project before the relaunch this friday.

The other crazier idea I had was to make an LLVM backend for the Epiphany chips, and use LLVM’s JIT/runtime compilations capabailities to do interesting things like: dynamically enable use of the Epiphany chip if available (much like Apple had done with their OpenGL pipeline to enable software fallbacks for missing hardware features on the Intel GMA), or make t easier to have an optimizer that will translate SIMD calls to relevant Epiphany kernels (which should help accelerate quite a few things). For the latter, I’m sure there is a way to do it in GCC, but my impression is the internals are not as modular, and I’d also loose the dynamic compilation possible with LLVM.

I have other even crazier ideas about what I’d do with dynamic [re]compilation, but I’ll save those for a separate post.

From → IMO

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Hi, I recently read this section on running quantum espresso on parallella board. Do you have any hacks to run some of the quantum chemistry packages to run on parallella.

    • None so far: the COPTHR SDK implements a broken version of OpenCL 1.1 without double support*. In order to run these OpenCL kernels on the epiphany chip would require porting the kernels. I had attempted porting Octopus’ kernels to get them to run, but each step of the way I hit segfaults and further missing features. It was quite frustrating.

      The attitude from the developers seems to be that OpenCL itself is “broken” and one needs to port kernels for performance reasons anyways, so there is no point in making their OpenCL layer portable. They’ve hinted this year is a big year for their SDK, but we’ll see…

      However, they also seem very reluctant to accept pull requests, and the ones they do “accept” are usually rewritten by themselves. I’ve had much better luck getting changes accepted into FreeOCL. If only someone was working on a Epiphany runtime for it…

      • The epiphany III does not have hardware double support, but does have software emulation. Using doubles incurs a large performance penalty, so I understand the logic behind not adding double support. However! I still believe adding it for portability reasons to at least allow kernels to run would be ideal, especially as future chips will have hardware double support.

Leave a Reply

